San Luis Obispo County Board of Education

Follow Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On YouTube

The County Board of Education’s Five Primary Functions

  1. Act as a policy-making body for the county office;
  2. Adopt the annual budget;
  3. Manage the real property holdings of the county office;
  4. Act as an appellant body on the expulsion of pupils if a district decision is appealed;
  5. Act as an appellant body on inter-district attendance requests if a district has denied the request.
  • The County Board’s Jobs – California School Boards Association (CSBA) Professional Governance Standards
  • The Education Code also specifies many other lesser duties and responsibilities.


Meetings are held on the first Thursday of the month at 1:30 p.m. in the Board Room at the County Office of Education.

Board of Education

Address all correspondence to:

San Luis Obispo County Office of Education
James J. Brescia, Secretary to County Board of Education
3350 Education Drive
San Luis Obispo, CA 93405

George Galvan
Trustee Area 5 – 2018
Atascadero Unified School District

Paul Madonna

Paul Madonna
13150 Santa Rita Road, Cayucos, CA 93430

Trustee Area 2 – 2018
Cayucos Elementary School District
Coast Unified School District
Templeton Unified School District

Floyd Moffatt

Floyd Moffatt – President
1096 Noyes Road, Arroyo Grande, CA 93420

Trustee Area 4 – 2018
Lucia Mar Unified School District

Joel Peterson

Joel Peterson – Vice-President
P.O. Box 2532, Avila Beach, CA  93424

Trustee Area 3 – 2020
San Luis Coastal Unified School District

Diane Ward

Diane A. Ward
P.O. Box 3242, Paso Robles, CA 93447

Trustee Area 1 – 2020
Paso Robles Joint Unified School District
San Miguel Joint Union School District
Pleasant Valley Joint Union Elem. School District
Shandon Joint Unified School District