Follow us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Follow us on YouTube
Follow us on LinkedIn
Watch COE-TV

Administration

Tony Thurmand, State Superintendent of Public Instruction, along with Dr. Brescia, County Superintendent of Schools, Susan Salcido, County Superintendent of Schools, Santa Barbara COE, and Santa Barbara COE staff

James Brescia, County Superintendent of Schools, and Tara Kini, Director of State Policy, Learning Policy Institute, at the Educator Recruitment & Retention Symposium, November 13 in Sacramento.

Tony Thurmand, State Superintendent of Public Instruction, along with Dr. Brescia, County Superintendent of Schools, Susan Salcido, County Superintendent of Schools, Santa Barbara COE, and Santa Barbara COE staff

Tony Thurmand, State Superintendent of Public Instruction, along with Dr. Brescia, County Superintendent of Schools, and Santa Barbara COE administrators.

previous arrow
next arrow
Slider

I consider it an honor and privilege to serve as your County Superintendent of Schools.  I pledge to provide leadership and service for all schools throughout San Luis Obispo County.  The County Superintendent of Schools serves as a spokesperson and advocate for the San Luis Obispo County students, staff and parents. The partnerships between the schools, families, and the larger community are the backbone of any success in the changing world of education.

Research indicates that whom we train and employ as our classroom teachers and school principals, has a great deal of influence on student success. We cannot underestimate the value of a highly qualified teacher or school administrator.  It is imperative that we act now to encourage intelligent young people to consider education as a profession.

James J. Brescia, Ed. D.

County Superintendent of Schools
County Superintendent of Schools


James J. Brescia, Ed.D.
jbrescia@slocoe.org
805-543-7732

Administrative Manager
Valerie Kraskey, Administrative Manager
Valerie Kraskey
vkraskey@slocoe.org
805-782-7201
Executive Assistant

No Photo Available
Karla Knuckles
kknuckles@slocoe.org
805-782-7203

Communication, Arts and Media

Executive Director

No Photo Available
Michael Specchierla
mspecchierla@slocoe.org
805-782-7273

Career & College Pathways
Communication, Arts and Media
SLO Partners

Educational Technology Coordinator


Michael Garrett
mgarrett@slocoe.org
805-782-7290

VAPA Coordinator

No Photo Available
Brent Moser
bmoser@slocoe.org
805-782-7358

DIgital Media Specialist

No Photo Available

Mike Thiesen
mthiesen@slocoe.org
805-782-7225

Programs and Grants

phone volume iconContact

Translate »